The Year in Movies

As I explained in my Oscar prediction piece, the late release dates of movies here in Australia forced me to change up my routine in regards to when my Best Films of the Year list will come out as well as my unveiling of winners of other ridiculously fun categories. (Here is a link to last year’s romp.) So, without further ado, 2013 in a nutshell:

The Worst Movies of the Year

1. The Counselor
2. Drinking Buddies
3. Runner Runner
4. The Hangover Part III
5. The Place Beyond the Pines

Funniest . . . We’re the Millers . . . scariest . . . The Conjuring . . . oddest (in a good way) . . . Spring Breakers . . . oddest (in a not-so-good way) . . . This is the End . . . exhilarating . . . Captain Phillips . . . excruciating . . . 12 Years a Slave . . . awe-inspiring: Gravity. 

The Best Movies of the Year

11. The Spectacular Now
10. Philomena
9. Nebraska
8. Her
7. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
6. The Wolf of Wall Street
5. Fruitvale Station
4. World War Z
3. Captain Phillips
2. 12 Years a Slave
1. Gravity

Money Talks 

Breaking it down even further:

Best Movie That Made the Most Amount of Money: World War Z ($202,359,711 domestically in 2013)
Best Movie That Made the Least Amount of Money: The Spectacular Now ($6,854,611)

Worst Movie That Made the Most Amount of Money: Oz the Great and Powerful ($234,911,825)
Worst Movie That Made the Least Amount of Money: Drinking Buddies ($343,341)

Editor’s note: ‘Worst’ this year is more accurately described as ‘disappointing’; dollar figures courtesy of BoxOfficeMojo.

Best Movie I Haven’t Seen (Yet): A tie—Prisoners and Saving Mr. Banks
Worst Movie I Will Never See: After Earth

Movie Quote of the Year: ‘Look at me. Look at me. I am the captain now.’

And four new categories:

Surprisingly Good Movie That I Thought Would have Been Much Worse: The Call
Horrible Movie That Should Have Been Much Better: The Counselor

Most Overrated Movie of the Year: American Hustle
Most Underappreciated Movie of the Year: Fruitvale Station

Star Gazing

Before I peer into the future to ascertain this year’s crop of future Hollywood stars, let’s take a look back at previous ‘It’ predictions:

Actress: Samantha Barks, Shailene Woodley
Actor: Dane DeHaan, Joel Edgerton
Director: Rian Johnson, Marc Webb

As for who I think is going to hit it big this year and beyond . . . :

Next ‘It’ Actress: Imogen Poots
Next ‘It’ Actor: Theo James
Next ‘It’ Director: Ryan Coogler

Secret Weapon

Need last minute help with your Oscar pool? Below is how things will go this evening on the 86th annual Academy Awards. I’ve amended some of my predicted winners (*) which I previously made before the actual nominations came out:

An apéritif:

Animated: Frozen
*Documentary: 20 Feet from Stardom
*Foreign: The Great Beauty
*Screenplay (original): Her
*Screenplay (adapted): 12 Years a Slave

As for some of the other categories: Best Song tFrozen, any technical category (cinematography, sound mixing/editing, visual effects) and original score to Gravity, production design to The Great Gatsby, but costumes—and well-positioned tape—will undoubtedly go to American Hustle (they have to win something tonight, right?) while makeup and hair will fast forward a decade, leaving New York City for Dallas. The shorts are always a crapshoot but I’m putting my money on The Lady in Number 6 for documentary and Helium in the über-competitive live action category.

Now to the most important awards—and the ones that will make-or-break your chances of going home with some booty tonight:

*Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o
Supporting Actor: Jared Leto
Lead Actress: Cate Blanchett
*Lead Actor: Matthew McConaughey
Director: Alfonso Cuarón
*Picture: 12 Years a Slave

2013 was yet another tremendous year for films and I think this will be an Oscar night to remember!

In Memoriam

Sitting in a darkened theatre, I will very much miss seeing James Gandolfini, Paul Walker, Annette Funicello, Dennis Farina, Peter O’Toole, Harold Ramis, and the most talented actor of his generation, Philip Seymour Hoffman, entrance, amuse, beguile, madden, and entertain me. Online and in print I will forever miss reading Roger Ebert. I watched his show every week growing up and I learned so much about the movies from him. A great writer and a superb critic. I hope all are now resting, comfortably and content, in peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Year in Movies

  1. Pingback: Nick’s Oscar Picks | An Ebullient Existence

  2. Pingback: Pursuit of Perfection | An Ebullient Existence

Leave a Reply

